Committed to the Water Vision for Europe by initiating, supporting and enhancing initiatives and projects, giving water a common voice in Europe.
  • Bookmark and Share
  • Increase Font
  • Decrease Font


Draft programme

A copy of the draft programme can be downloaded here.

Tuesday, 16th March 2010

Participants arrival

Reception at the Brussels City Hall, Grand Place

Programme des Mardis de L’Environnement

- Welcome by the Echevin, Mr. Mampaka

- Welcome by EWP Chairman and EWP Vice-Chairman

Presentation of 2 youth projects success stories:

- Mr. Thijs Kuiper, President of 9th Youth Parliament on Water

- Ms. Ceren Burcak Dag, Winner of SJWP 2009

Walking Buffet

Picture Presentation “Troubled Waters” of Dieter Telemans by Green

Keynote by Mrs.  Marie-Christine Berrewaerts, Water Unit, Bruxelles Environnement

Followed by cocktail buffet

Supported by the Echevin de l`Environnement


Wednesday, 17th March 2010 – European Parliament

9.00 Welcome

- Introductory of the participants and process

- Team building activity

- Introductory training session. Led by Lesha Witmer, independent advisor on sustainable development & water management

- Venue: Hotel le Dome

13.30 Joint lunch at the European Parliament

15.00 Meeting and  exchange with MEPs

16.30 Visit through the European Parliament

Free afternoon

20:00 Dinner at “Chez Léon”


Thursday, 18th March 2010

9.00 Opening and Welcome

        Opening speech by Ms. Isabelle Durant, Vice-President European Parliament

        Opening and welcome by EWP, SEE and MEP Dr. Seeber

        Youth Music Performance

        Screening of Vision Movie

9.45 Open discussion between the youth participants and

 - Mr. Philipe Quevauviller, Scientific Officier,  DG Research

 - MEPs

 - Mr. Juan Manuel Revuelta, Director Fundacion Comunidad Valenciana

 - Dr. Nicola Notaro, Deputy Head of Unit,  DG Environment, Water Protection

10.45 Refreshments

11.00 Interactive working sessions 1

13.30 Lunch

14.15 Interactive working session 2

- Introduction by Mr. Dieter Telemans, photographer

16.15 Closing plenary session announcing the European Youth Water Declaration

- Mr. Peter Gammeltoft, Head of Protection of Water and Marine Environment Unit, DG Environment, European Commission
- Mr. Reiner Wieland, Vice-President European Parliament


The registrations for youth participation is closed. Should you be however interested to join the morning session on Thursday, 18th March between 9am and 11am at the European Parliament, please contact us at

Feedback Form